Search the Site

Uber Guitar Quizzes

Think you know something about guitar gear? Take our:

Guitar Gear Quiz Or Metal Gear Quiz Or Guitar Pedal Quiz - New!

Uber Facebook

Latest Comments

  • John Mayer's Guitar Gear Rig and EquipmentGreg said More
    That's keith urbans guitar rig. 9 hours ago.
  • Bruce Springsteen Guitar Gear Rig and EquipmentGloria said More
    What amplifier and strings did he use with his Kent Polaris... 3 days ago.
  • Slayer - Jeff Hanneman's Guitar Rig Setup and Equi...Hugues Pelletier said More
    Oops my bad. Actually.010-.046 6 days ago.
  • Slayer - Jeff Hanneman's Guitar Rig Setup and Equi...Hugues Pelletier said More
    I believe they use D’Addario XL .009-.046 6 days ago.
  • Nuno Bettencourt's Guitar Gear Rig and EquipmentKenji said More
    Boss DD-3 2 weeks ago.
  • Job For A Cowboy - Alan Glassman Guitar Rig Gear a...atr24 said More
    He and JFAC's other guitarist both started using Jet City... 2 weeks ago.
  • George Benson Guitar Rig Gear and EquipmentAnonymous said More
    He uses like, 12 Metal Zones. 2 weeks ago.
  • Moonspell - Ricardo Amorim Guitar Rig Gear and Equ...D.P. said More
    His old guitar is not a BC Rich, it's a Schecter Devil... 2 weeks ago.
  • Slayer - Kerry King's Guitar Gear Rig and Equipmen...Roger said More
    Kahler, not Floyd...
    3 weeks ago.
  • Grateful Dead - Jerry Garcia Guitar Rig Gear and E...Drew said More
    No matter what gear Jerry had, he always had the same... 4 weeks ago.
  • Animals as Leaders - Tosin Abasi Guitar Rig Gear a...dethae said More
    does anyone know where to find the Latique overdrive pedal... 4 weeks ago.
  • Cannibal Corpse - Pat O'Brien Guitar Gear Rig and ...Orphius said More
    5150 is not switched on however the mesa triple next to it...... 4 weeks ago.
  • Cannibal Corpse - Pat O'Brien Guitar Gear Rig and ...Anonymous said More
    No he doesn't... I just asked him when I saw them last month... 4 weeks ago.
  • AC/DC - Malcolm Young Guitar Gear Rig and Equipmen...miss said More
    Any idea what kind of guitar strap he has on? Monday, 18 December 2017

Uber Twitter

Peerless Guitars may be a name that isn’t as recognizable in the United States as some other big brands, but you are likely already very familiar with their work. Since 1970 Peerless, headquartered in Korea, has been producing very high quality guitars for manufacturers including Epiphone and Gretsch.  In 2007 Peerless began releasing carved archtop guitars under its own name. The company purchases raw materials and lumber and does all the building, assembly and finish work in their own facility. It really is a “soup to nuts” operation, where they handle all aspects of the guitar building process, leading to some quality guitars.

The Peerless Retromatic guitar

I’ll admit that until recently I did not know much about the Peerless branded guitars. Some web searching led me to many forum threads where people were showing off either their Peerless labeled guitars or their prized Peerless built Epiphones (some beautiful Casinos, etc…) and raving about the quality. The Peerless guitars also appeared to be extremely popular amongst jazz guitar players, many who have been aware of the brand and reputation for a long time.

When I saw that Peerless was at NAMM 2013 showing off their brand new electric guitar model called the Retromatic, I knew I’d have to get a hold of one to do a review. A couple months later I got my hands on their new Retromatic P2, in candy apple red color.

Compared to the other guitars in the Peerless lineup, the Retromatic is a smaller body, thinline style electric. The 22 fret maple guitar neck has a 628mm (24.72 inches) scale with a rosewood fret board. The neck has black binding and Mother of Pearl inlays. The laminated maple archtop single cutaway contoured body has a mahogany sustain block and a single “F” hole.

Peerless guitar neck

There are a variety of options for the Retromatic. There are seven different retro finishes, including natural, teal green, honey sunburst, ivory, black, gold, and candy apple red. There are also some different pickup combinations available. You can get the guitar with a single humbucker pickup, OR a humbucker AND a P90 pickup (with or without a 6-way varitone pickup switch). The Retromatic also will be available with the Stetsbar tremolo system as an option.

The pickups on this guitar were designed by Matt Gleeson, of Monty’s Pickups in London and were created to be a match for the guitars body shape and acoustic characteristics. Matt’s pickups are used by a variety of pros and are quite highly regarded. The bridge humbucker on this guitar is Alnico II wound at 7.9k/8.0k. The neck pickup is a P90 Alnico V wound at 7.1k/7.3k.

Peerless guitar body

Everything sounds amazing on paper right? But how does this thing look and play in real life? Now that we’ve gotten the little details out of the way, let’s talk about the actual guitar we got for review.

The guitar came in a nice quality fitted black hardshell case. Upon opening the case I was rewarded with a candy apple red beauty looking back at me. I picked up the guitar, tuned it, and immediately began playing around with it. The guitar was setup well. The action was low (but not too low), no string buzz, no problems with bends and so on. The neck was set well. For strings, it looked/felt like it had D’Addario 10’s on it, though I still need to verify that.

As with many guitars that have some hollowness (thinline in this case), the natural guitar sound was very lively and dynamic compared to an all solid body electric guitar. This was great for a wide variety of music, especially rock (but perhaps not metal :). I naturally gravitated to some Izzy Stradlin riffs (a notorious hollow body player). After playing the guitar acoustically, I fired up Amplitube (my Budda is packed away right now) and matched the guitar to an Orange OR120 amp head and a 4x12 Orange PPC cabinet. Matched with that amp my conclusion is that this guitar is one bad-to-the-bone tone machine! The pickups on this bad-boy are the crowning jewel of the guitar. Matt Gleeson did an incredible job designing pickups that fit the characteristics of this guitar. The bridge humbucker is one of my favorite aspects of this guitar.

Here is a little recording I did of the Retromatic playing dirty tones on the OR120. I start with the neck pickup then make my way to the bridge pickup.

Dirty Guitar Audio Sample

Here are the amp settings I used:

Orange amp settings

 

I also recorded some clean tones using a simulated Fender ‘65 Deluxe Reverb Amplifier. I cranked the volume up to 10 and put on a little reverb.

Clean Guitar Audio Sample

Here are the amp settings I used:

Fender amp settings

 

No review would be complete without a discussion of negative(s). I call BS on any reviews that are 100% positive; as I’m sure you do also. The fit and finish are perfect throughout the guitar except one small spot there was a little bit of black paint speckling near the neck joint. Otherwise, that’s it…that’s all I got for the “gripes” section.

Overall I’m very pleased with this guitar. Its street price seems to be in the $1,000-$1200ish range, and seeing how it contends well with guitars nearly twice its price, it is quite a value. If you are looking for a retro looking and sounding tone-machine, I recommend that you definitely take a look at the Peerless Retromatic.

Peerless Retromatic guitar


For more info about Peerless and the Retromatic guitar visit http://www.peerlessguitars.eu/

Like what you see?

Close

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...