Visit our Who Plays What section to see hundreds of famous musician's guitar, bass, and drum rigs or search the site:

Our buddy Miles has major G.A.S. over the Wampler Tumnus overdrive pedal. Could it be the best Klon-style OD pedal for the price? Check this pedal out!

UberProAudio is reader supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. We appreciate your support!

Bass Talk

Help using tone controls

More
12 years 8 months ago #738 by xxKurtxx
Hey, everyone. I'm a guitarist, so I don't really know much about bass tone. How do you set your amp and tone to get different bass sounds. I really like the sound of blink-182. I'm guessing they set their treble and mids high and keep the tone rolled up, but I'm not sure. I was also wondering how to get that really punchy sound on old greenday records, or how to get a really deep metal tone. Our bassist uses a Squier Bass with 2 standard pickups and plays through the PA until we can afford a decent bass amp. Thanks.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
12 years 8 months ago #739 by uberpro
Just wanted to mention that there are pro bass players out there who only run through a D.I. type unit, right into the PA. I think the SansAmp Bass Driver is a very highly used choice for this by pro's.....might be worth checking out a used one. I'll let others share their favorite EQ settings....

More
12 years 6 months ago #767 by shadowclone177
My bassist personally setting scoop the mids for slaps treble up and so is bass. This will change depending on the song we're playing or the moods he's in. And with his bass amp he runs it through the house and just has the speaker for stage volume because he thinks it sound better and its easier then micing it up.

More
11 years 3 months ago - 11 years 3 months ago #826 by Kong
Replied by Kong on topic Help using tone controls
Good question.

That depends on your bass, your amp, your cab.... and the venue you play in.